The Center for e-Governance (CEG), a Society formed by the State Government of Karnataka, is one of the registrars in the State of Karnataka responsible for the enrolment of residents for UID project. On enrolment, each resident will be issued a unique 12- digit Aadhaar number by the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) on behalf of the Government of India.

This number will serve as a proof of identity and address, anywhere in India. Any individual, irrespective of age and gender, who is a resident in India and satisfies the verification process laid down by the UIDAI can enrol for Aadhaar. Each individual needs to enrol only once which is free of cost. Each Aadhaar number will be unique to a resident, independent of caste, creed, religion or geography and will remain valid for life.

In Karnataka, the enrolments have been going on since Oct 2010 and was stopped on 12th February 2012 based on the instructions from UIDAI. Phase II of the enrolments began in December 2012 and the current status of enrolments and Aadhaar generation can be viewed in the following link Aadhaar Lekha

read more

© Centre for e-Governance, 2011